IPL 2024: Hardik Pandya has been named captain of the Mumbai Indians for the IPL 2024 season.

Hardik Pandya will take over for the legendary Rohit Sharma, the Mumbai Indians' longest-serving and most successful captain.

IPL 2024: Hardik Pandya has been named captain of the Mumbai Indians for the IPL 2024 season.

Mumbai Indians (MI) have named explosive all-rounder Hardik Pandya as captain for the next IPL 2024 season, marking a significant leadership turnover.

The announcement represents a strategic shift for the Mumbai Indians, who are recognized for their legacy-building and forward-thinking strategy. Mahela Jayawardene, Mumbai Indians' Global Head of Performance, stressed the team's commitment to staying future-ready.

'Mumbai Indians have always been blessed with outstanding leadership, from Sachin to Harbhajan, Ricky to Rohit, who, while contributing to immediate success, have always had an eye on building the squad for the future,' he said. In keeping with this mindset, Hardik Pandya will captain the Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2024 season.'

Jayawardene thanked Rohit Sharma for his great leadership and hailed Sharma's extraordinary tenure from 2013. Sharma's captaincy not only contributed to the team's unprecedented triumph, but also cemented him as one of the best captains in IPL history. Despite stepping aside as captain, Sharma's advice and experience are believed to be crucial to the Mumbai Indians' future success.

Jayawardene conveyed best wishes to Hardik Pandya as the new captain, highlighting the team's anticipation of his leadership in the forthcoming season. Pandya, known for his powerful batting and excellent bowling, offers a new viewpoint and energy to the captaincy post, and Mumbai Indians fans are looking forward to seeing how he leads the team in the IPL 2024.

Hardik Pandya, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Tilak Varma, Piyush Chawla, Akash Madhwal, Nehal Wadhera, Kumar Kartikeya Singh, Vishnu Vinod, Shams Mulani, and Arjun Tendulkar will captain the Mumbai Indians in 2024.

Tim David, Dewald Brevis, and Jason Behrendorff continue to play for the Mumbai Indians. Romario Shepherd was acquired via trade by the Mumbai Indians in the run-up to the retention deadline.

  • Copy to Clipboard
Featured Video
More Videos