Australia Men vs England Men - 2nd ODI - Brisbane

270/9 (50.0)
274/6 (44.2)
CR:6.18 | RR:-0.53
  • Venue


  • Series

    Gillette ODI Series 2018

  • Toss

    Australia won the toss and elected to bat.

  • Umpire

    Dharmasena, H D P K , Nogajski, S J

  • Match Referee

    Madugalle, R S

  • Tv Umpire

    Fry, S D

  • Man of the Match


Batter R B 4s 6s SR
Joe Root 46 58 1 0 79.31
Chris Woakes 39 27 5 1 144.44
Bowler O M R W NB WD Ec.
Marcus Stoinis 4.2 0 34 0 0 1 7.85

44.2 Marcus Stoinis to Chris Woakes

Over 45. 8 runs. Bowler: Marcus Stoinis. England: 6-274(rr 6.09)


44.2 Marcus Stoinis to Chris Woakes

FOUR! Marcus Stoinis to Chris Woakes. Length ball, off stump on the front foot driving, well timed in the air under control past long on for 4 runs. Finished in style, Woakes plonks this over the top and gets a big hug from Root. England seal victory by 4 wickets and go 2-0 up in the series. Once again England have mastered a runchase to canter home with plenty of overs to spare. There was no standout innings on this occasion, instead a workmanlike display from six of their top eight as they made light work of Australia's total. Mitchell Starc (59-4) sent some nerves through the away dressing room with a fired up spell, but Joe Root (46*) and Chris Woakes (39*) remained composed until the end. The tourists' bowling display deserves plenty of credit, they were able to stifle the hosts through proactive captaincy, canny spin bowling and clever changes of pace. It leaves Steve Smith's men with a tough ask to haul themselves back into the series, they'll have the chance to do so in two days time in Sydney.


44.1 Marcus Stoinis to Chris Woakes

FOUR! Marcus Stoinis to Chris Woakes. Short, outside off stump on the back foot cutting, well timed in the air under control past deep backward point for 4 runs. Glorious, Woakes leans back to open up the offside and then carves this with sublime timing. The end is nigh in Brisbane.


Australia Men

Aaron Finch
David Warner
Steven Smith (c)
Travis Head
Cameron White
Mitchell Marsh
Marcus Stoinis
Alex Carey (wk)
Mitchell Starc
Jhye Richardson
Andrew Tye

England Men

Jason Roy
Jonny Bairstow
Alex Hales
Joe Root
Eoin Morgan (c)
Jos Buttler (wk)
Moeen Ali
Chris Woakes
Adil Rashid
Liam Plunkett
Mark Wood